Nuisance | Kuchisabishii 

 2022 | 12 Tracks |27 min

On their debut release under the Nuisance moniker, longtime collaborators William J. Seidel and Ryan E. Weber offer up Kuchisabishii (Lonely Mouth), a gorgeous and fascinating take on dream pop through a folk and modern classical-inspired lens.

After two years of recording instruments and meticulously coding them into software, Weber decided the inaugural run on the programs should be in contrast; immediate, expressive, and impressionistic. Thus, he allotted himself only two days to write and record the entirety of the music using only the Onomatopeia Series of instruments.  He then conceptualized a general theme and a particular series of rules for vocal treatments. Two more days were allocated to Seidel to compose and record his voice, one song at a time, as it is presented to the listener.

The end result is a peerless concept that masterfully marries album creation with artist-designed virtual instruments. Sonically, Kuchisabishii is a beguiling demonstration of intimacy, immediacy, and musical artistry. Conceptually, it is an example of visionary workmanship that takes a listener to new artistic frontiers, where they can be a passive listener or actively engage with the sounds on the album.

Cassettes Available thru Katuktu Collective